I review my 2013.


So, today is the final day of 2013. How was it for you? Here’s how it was for me. 

Wishing you all the best for 2014.

Vic x

Vic

2013 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

2013 really has been a good year for me. Although I haven’t done a great deal of writing, I set up my own business, Elementary V Watson, and it has got off to a great start. I’m running a couple of writing groups a week and arranged two performance evenings as well.

Completing the first year of my teaching degree and being rated ‘outstanding’ was pretty special.

I did my first ever public reading in April 2013 at the Literary & Philosophical Society in Newcastle. That was nerve-wracking but seemed to go well.

The blog post I wrote about Sjogren’s Syndrome was well-received, too. Oh, and I was invited back to blog for Whitley Bay Film Festival.

EVW

And how about a favourite moment from 2013 generally?

On the whole, 2013 has been a really good year for me. I’m managing to stay relatively healthy (most of the time) and I got a diagnosis of Sjogren’s Syndrome after all these years of wondering. Although that’s not a great thing to have, it means I am now supported by a confidence-inspiring medical team and I know that I’m not being fobbed off. My health is improving which is great and I started going to the gym which helps. I was lucky enough to be bridesmaid for my best friend in June which was wonderful. When I look back on 2013, it is with happiness.

Favourite book in 2013?

‘And the Mountains Echoed’ by Khaled Hosseini. Followed by ‘The Lollipop Shoes’ by Joanne Harris.

Favourite film of 2013?

That’s a tough question to answer. I loved ‘Zero Dark Thirty’, ‘Django Unchained’ and I thought ‘Stoker’ was very good indeed. That said, I went to see ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ twice at the cinema and I loved it both times, I have a wee girl crush on Katniss.

Favourite song of the year?

‘Blurred Lines’ by Robin Thicke. I know the song and the video caused a lot of controversy but I think too much was read into it. It’s just a great, catchy pop song that makes me think of happy times in the summer. I also love ‘Work Bitch’ by Britney, it’s a great song to listen to in the gym.

Any downsides for you in 2013?

There’s been no Lotto win for me. Other than that, the only disappointment is that I haven’t had time to write very much.

Are you making resolutions for 2014?

Keep thinking positively, keep trying to exercise but know your limits.

What are you hoping for from 2014?

To graduate from my PGCE. I’d like to do more writing and become thinner too. Too much?

If Santa was to bring you any one thing you wanted on Xmas morning, what would it be?

Extreme weight loss or a Lottery win. Or both. Oh, and a cure for all of the world’s ills.

One response to “I review my 2013.

  1. Lovely blog article, please feel free to come and guest blog for me.

Leave a Reply

