Sinema: The Movie.


Several years ago, my very clever Kindle suggested I may like a book called ‘Sinema: The Northumberland Massacre‘ by Rod Glenn. The Kindle was correct: I loved the book! I remember thinking that this author had guts – and plenty of them were splattered all over the page! 

Since then, thanks to Twitter and Facebook, I’ve been lucky enough to get to know Rod. He’s from Newcastle, like me and we’ve met at book launches and literary events. Almost two years ago, Rod came to a performance night that I’d arranged for my writing groups and he read an excerpt from ‘Sinema’ which was massively well-received. That evening, some members of my group were signed up to produce an anthology with Wild Wolf Publishing (Rod’s publisher). That anthology was entitled ‘Thrills ‘n’ Chills‘ and has gone on to be very successful. 

Today, I’ve invited Rod onto the blog to talk about his latest project: adapting ‘Sinema’ for the big screen. Yep, you read that right: they’re making a ‘Sinema’ movie! So I’ll hand you over to Rod who can tell you all about it.

Vic x

Sinema

So what’s ‘Sinema’ about?

There’s a newcomer to the small Northumberland village of Haydon… a charming novelist and film buff, researching a crime thriller about a serial killer on a rampage in a remote Northumberland community. The only trouble is, it’s a work in progress and it’s going to be non-fiction.

392 men, women and children stand in his way to achieving a sadistic dream.

As the worst winter in more than a century approaches, can two investigating police officers trapped with the terrorised residents stop this monster?

“This novel was one the most heart racing, jaw-dropping novels that I have ever dared to finish.” ~ The Crack Magazine. 

Out of all my novels, ‘Sinema: The Northumberland Massacre’ has been the biggest commercial success to date.  Since its release, I have been continuously told how it would make a great film, but I never really pursued it to any great extent as I’m a novelist, not a screen writer. Last year though, an author and screen writer friend offered to help with the adaptation.  I have a huge amount of respect for Ricki Thomas and her writing, so was delighted to have her help.

After many drafts and re-drafts, we finally managed to condense the novel into a fast-paced thriller without losing the essence of the book and what made it so popular in the first place.

As an actor I have been involved in film and television projects, both big and small over the years – from Hollywood blockbusters to iconic television series like ‘Inspector George Gently’, ‘Vera’ and ‘Ripper Street’.  Early this year I worked with director, Kev Harte on the short supernatural mystery, ‘The Sceptic‘.  It has gone on to win coveted official selection spots at dozens of film festivals and has also been aired on Eli Roth’s new horror television channel, Crypt TV.  While filming ‘The Sceptic’ we talked about the adaptation and Kev immediately asked to come on board to direct.

 

 

The central character – the infamous Han Whitman – was actually based on me and many fans have repeatedly asked if I would play him in the film.  As Brad Pitt was busy, I thought: ‘what the hell?’ We are currently casting for the rest of the roles and have already had a very strong response from loads of local talent. I am keen to ensure that it is not only filmed exclusively in the North East, but we also utilise home grown talent both in the cast and crew of this production to help boost the North East’s vibrant film industry.

As it is an ambitious project, involving a huge cast, multiple locations and a gripping snowstorm finale, we are currently raising additional funds for the film to help us make it.  We are offering some exciting perks that money can’t buy like VIP tickets to the premiere, lunch with cast and director and even a small part in the film.  Perks start from just £10, click here for more info.

For news and updates you can follow the film on Twitter (https://twitter.com/SinemaTheMovie) and Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/sinemathemovie).
Leave a Reply

