Review of 2015: Rebecca Muddiman


Talented crime writer Rebecca Muddiman is here to share her ups and downs of 2015. I read ‘Stolen’ in 2013 and absolutely loved her detectives Gardner and Freeman. 

Thanks, Rebecca, for being involved. 

Vic x

Rebecca Muddiman

2015 was another great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?

My second book, Gone, coming out was exciting, as was seeing my first book – Stolen – in its German and Russian editions. And being chosen as part of WH Smith’s Fresh Talent campaign was nice.

But the best thing this year has probably been working on new things. As well as a new Gardner and Freeman book, I’ve written a standalone novel which is very different to anything I’ve written before, and I’ve finally started working on a screenplay I’ve wanted to write for about fifteen years and it’s been lovely immersing myself in the research for that.

Gone

And how about a favourite memory from 2015 generally?

Seeing Patti Smith in conversation was fantastic, especially as she brought Lenny Kaye along and they did a set which was a much welcomed bonus.

Favourite book in 2015?

I started keeping a journal of all the books I’ve read this year which is useful for remembering things but now makes it even harder to choose a favourite. I’ve read a lot of amazing crime novels this year especially The Life I Left Behind by Colette McBeth, Crash and Burn by Lisa Gardner and Cop Town by Karin Slaughter. Then there was A God in Ruins by the always wonderful Kate Atkinson, and A Lovely Way to Burn by Louise Welsh. Shutterbabe by Deborah Copaken Kogan reignited my fascination with war reporters, as did Martha Gellhorn: A Life by Caroline Moorhead. And lastly a couple of books by two of my heroes – Kim Gordon’s Girl in a Band and Mindy Kaling’s Why Not Me?

Favourite film of 2015?

I watch a lot of films but have a terrible memory (maybe I should make a note of these too) but I loved Suffragette and Mad Max: Fury Road. I enjoyed Slow West a lot more than I’d expected to, and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl was excellent – the parodies were hilarious. And Men and Chicken was bonkers in a good way.

Favourite song of 2015?

I’ve been listening to a lot of older stuff recently – a lot of Roy Orbison, Patsy Cline, Kate Bush and Magnapop. But I also loved Ryan Adam’s cover album of Taylor Swift’s 1989.

Any downsides for you in 2015?

The death of Teesside’s steel industry was depressing, and though the government’s abandonment of the area wasn’t surprising it still makes me angry. Also Hannibal was cancelled.

Are you making resolutions for 2016?

I usually make too many and then fail miserably. But I have been trying to learn Danish this year so maybe I should just focus on that. (It’s not going very well so far. Danish  is really hard.)

stolen

What are you hoping for in 2016?

I’d like to push myself a bit harder with my writing and try new things. And hopefully I’ll finish the screenplay I’m working on. Getting it made would be amazing – it would make me the happiest little writer in the world.

TellMeLies

Stolen and Gone are out now. The third Gardner and Freeman book, Tell Me Lies, is out in March 2016.

https://rebeccamuddiman.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/RebeccaMuddiman

https://www.facebook.com/rebeccamuddimanwriter/

Leave a Reply

