Review of 2015: Bea Davenport


Bea Davenport is the pen name of former BBC and newspaper journalist Barbara Henderson. Barbara is the author of two brilliant crime novels – ‘In Too Deep‘ and This Little Piggy‘ (Legend Press) and two children’s novels – The Serpent House‘ and My Cousin Faustina‘ (ReadZone Books). She holds a Creative Writing PhD from Newcastle Uni and she teaches writing and journalism.

Barbara was instrumental in me getting my PGCE and I will never forget the kindness she has shown me. 

Vic x

Bea DavenportDo you have a favourite memory professionally?

I think there were three or four big moments.

Work-wise, I got two new jobs: I now teach journalism three days a week at the University of the Creative Arts in Farnham, Surrey and it’s great to be back in direct contact with the journalism industry again. I’m also now programme leader for creative writing for the Open College of the Arts, where I teach students via distance learning.

Running writing workshops and passing on skills is something I love doing and is a nice part of being a published writer. This summer I was invited to run a writing shop for the National Alopecia Areata Foundation conference in Anaheim, California (because the central character of my first children’s book, The Serpent House, has alopecia) and I had a truly wonderful time, meeting some very inspirational people.

Finally, the interactive e-book I wrote late last year for Fiction Express, My Cousin Faustina, came out in paperback in 2015, published by ReadZone Books.

Faustina cover

And how about a favourite moment from 2015 generally?

My son and daughter took part in a brilliant production of Sunshine on Leith at their school and I honestly could have burst with pride as I watched them. My son also got his A-level results and got a place in his university of choice, Manchester.

Favourite book in 2015? 

It has to be We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler, which I read out in California. Really moving and unusual.

Favourite film of 2015?

Inside Out.


Favourite song of the year?

I can’t answer this one – sorry! I stopped paying any attention to the singles charts around 25 years ago.

Any downsides for you in 2015?

The recurring one: I never get enough time to write. It’s felt particularly acute this year as work’s been so busy.


Are you making resolutions for 2016?

I always promise myself I will write more and eat less. I see no reason not to keep hoping!

What are you hoping for from 2016?

I’m currently editing a YA novel, with the help of an agent. It would be fantastic if it found a publisher.

Leave a Reply

