Review of 2015: L J Ross


In late November, I was lucky enough to attend the book party for LJ Ross’s second novel ‘Sycamore Gap‘. It was a fabulous party, complete with a cupcakes with edible sycamore trees on top and a book cover cake. 
LJ Ross has had phenomenal success this year and she’s on the blog today to review her 2015.
Vic x
LJ Ross
2015 was a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?
My favourite memory has to be when my debut novel, ‘Holy Island, made it to number one in the UK charts. It was an unforgettable moment and something I never expected to happen.
Holy Island
And how about a favourite moment from 2015 generally?
Another favourite moment from 2015 was when my son, who is two, learned how to say “I love you, Mummy”. I’m not a soppy person, but there was a definite tear in my eye!
sycamore gap cupcake
Favourite book in 2015? 
The best book I have read this year was ‘A Little Life‘ by Hanya Yanagihara. It is a beautifully crafted story and the descriptions of New York are so true to life.
Favourite film of 2015?
I don’t make it to the cinema as much these days as I’m so busy, but I loved the new Bond film, ‘Spectre. I love all the Bond movies, so perhaps that’s not a very discerning view…
Favourite song of the year?
I’ve recently rediscovered Seal, so I’ve been listening to his amazing hit, ‘Kiss From a Rose‘ which was originally written for the film ‘Batman Forever‘. He has a very beautiful, melodic voice.
Any downsides for you in 2015?
No downsides, really, except that life has been very busy and I wish that there were more hours in the day!
sycamore gap cake
Are you making resolutions for 2016?
I don’t like to make resolutions I can’t keep, but I will try to do what I always do: be a decent human being, treat others fairly, keep writing the stories I love and enjoy spending time with my son.
Sycamore Gap
What are you hoping for from 2016?
If 2016 is anything like 2015, I will be a happy woman! I hope that readers enjoy the third instalment of the DCI Ryan series, ‘Heavenfield’.
You can read more about LJ Ross at her website and connect with her on Facebook
Leave a Reply

