Review of 2015: Nick Quantrill


The lovely Nick Quantrill is with us today to review his 2015, thanks Nick!

Vic x

Nick Quantrill

Do you have a favourite memory professionally from 2015?

It seems a bit ridiculous to say it wasn’t appearing on my first panel at the Harrogate Crime Festival. It was an incredible privilege to go on stage in front of 800 or so people and interview a great selection of authors including Lee Child. But as a huge fan of The Beatles, the Beverley Literature Festival gave me the opportunity to interview Mark Lewisohn, the world’s leading authority on the band. We even squeezed in a brief research trip to the site of where George Harrison crashed the band’s van on the way home from a gig in Hull. That was an incredible experience for me.

And how about a favourite moment from 2015 generally?

My daughter is four years old, so it’s great to see the world through her eyes – the beach, animals, starting school, just the stuff we don’t always take the time to appreciate. But there’s always football. I’ve thrown myself into watching non-league football for a variety of reasons, but didn’t expect to see my local side, North Ferriby United, win at Wembley this year in the FA Trophy Final. An amazing achievement. 

Favourite book in 2015? 

I’ve chaired a lot of events this year, so my reading has been a bit fragmented. The great thing about being a fan of crime fiction is that you’re essentially guaranteed a book by your favourite writer every year. The biggest surprise was “How to be Brave by fellow Hull-writer, Louise Beech. It’s about a mother whose teenage daughter is struggling to come to terms with being diagnosed with diabetes. The deal is that if she accepts her injections, they’ll share the diary of her great-grandfather’s incredible survival tale on a drifting raft in World War Two. I really didn’t expect it to be to my taste, but it blew me away.

Favourite film of 2015?

I’ve only been to the cinema once this year, so I’ll pick “Spectre”. I did enjoy it, so that’ll do for me. I’m more a box set type of person, albeit seemingly a year behind everyone else.

Favourite song of the year?

I still very much listen to my music in album form, so I’ll go for “Star Wars” by Wilco. It’s melodic, but challenging. Different, but not inaccessible. It’s a real return to form. I was also very lucky to see Teenage Fanclub essentially play a tiny pub gig this year, so any of their tunes. Locally, there’s loads of great stuff going on and I try to keep up with it. Bull from York have grabbed my attention this year.

Any downsides for you in 2015?

It would have been nice to have got a new novel out this year, but it wasn’t to be. “The Dead Can’t Talk” is set for May, 2016, so all’s well that ends well. 

Are you making resolutions for 2016?

I don’t really believe in them. If you want to make something happen, go out and do it. Don’t wait. If pushed, I’ll be aiming to write a better book than I’ve managed before because that’s the name of the game.

 What are you hoping for from 2016?

I’m looking forward to “The Dead Can’t Talk” being published and seeing where it takes me. There’s interesting stuff going on in the background, so looking forward to seeing what I can make happen, as well as enjoying everyone else’s books and success stories.

You can get more info on Nick, and his books, on his website.

Leave a Reply

