Review of 2015: Nicola Cameron


Today we have the brilliant playwright Nicola Cameron to review 2015. Thanks for taking the time to do this, Nicola!

Vic x

Nicola Cameron

2015 was a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?
2015 was the year I wrote my first proper, hour-long play, ‘Wasters’. It took six months of writing, redrafting and workshopping to get it to a point where it was ready to be performed; and I worked with some absolutely fantastic actors and directors, all under the mentorship of the talented Fin Kennedy. Sitting in the audience watching Wasters, seeing something I had imagined come to life, has got to be my top memory this year.

Wasters

And how about a favourite moment from 2015 generally?
Performing ‘451’ by Periplum at SIRF 15. SIRF is Stockton’s International Riverside Festival – one of Europe’s largest outdoor theatre festivals and is definitely worth getting along to in the summer. I volunteered to help out with a show, thinking I’d be tearing tickets, but when I arrived I was given a black coat, a balaclava and a whistle! The show is a large-scale retelling of Ray Bradbury’s ‘Fahrenheit 451’, complete with flame-throwers, acrobatics and a gang of balaclava-clad firemen (me!) scaring the crowd into burning their books. It is a truly incredible show and a brilliant thing to be a part of, and has encouraged me to look into outdoor theatre as a career.

Favourite book in 2015?
This was the year I discovered Jose Saramago. ‘Blindness’ – where an entire town goes blind out of the blue, was the book that I could not put down. Saramago has an interesting way of writing, in that his sentences are often pages long, with the dialogue incorporated in them. It gives his work the feeling of being told the story rather than reading it, as the writers’ voice and personality are a part of the text. I’d also recommend ‘The Gospel According to Jesus Christ’ and ‘Death at Intervals’.

Favourite film of 2015?
The Lobster’. A thousand times! Amazing film. It’s set in a dystopian sort of world where everyone must be part of a couple to live in the city and lead a normal life. If you are single you are sent to a hotel, where you have so many days to pair up with one of the other singles, otherwise you’ll be turned into an animal. If you run away, you have to live in a forest as a Loner and be hunted by the hotel guests every night. I won’t say any more, just that I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so much at a film. So see it!

Favourite song of the year?
Prince Johnny’ by St Vincent. I don’t even know why but I can’t get it out of my head. Also St Vincent is amazing – beautiful voice and great lyrics!

Any downsides for you in 2015?
It’s been a tough year financially but I think that’s true for most people at the moment. Here’s to a better 2016!

Are you making resolutions for 2016?
I think it’s time I tackled the big one: procrastination. It needs to be stopped. And it needs to stop stopping me. Also I’d like to try and move around a bit more. And actually update my blog regularly like I’m supposed to!

What are you hoping for from 2016?
I’d like to get another play written just to prove ‘Wasters’ wasn’t a fluke. And I guess by saying that it’s clear that I need to be more confident in myself as a writer. I think that’d be a good thing to aim for.

You can check out Nicola’s blog  or her filmpoem

 

Leave a Reply

