Review of 2015: Dan Smith


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merry Christmas everyone! I hope you all have a wonderful day. On this special day, we have Dan Smith here to review his year. Dan was kind enough to co-judge Jesmond Library’s inaugural Creative Writing competition with me this year and it was a real pleasure to work with him. 

Thanks Dan!

Vic x

Dan Smith

2015 was another good year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?
The publication of Big Game, and everything surrounding it, was very exciting – translated into numerous languages, sold all over the world, a private screening of the film, non-disclosure agreements, that sort of thing. Signing the movie option agreement for The Child Thief was also a great moment, as was doing an event at the Hay Festival, finishing my latest novel, selling it to USA and Germany (so far) . . .  so many great memories to choose from!

And how about a favourite moment from 2015 generally?
I can’t really think of a standout moment. Overall, it’s been a good year and I’m always so thankful for the health and love of my family, for having a great publisher, and for any professional success. Sounds a bit cheesy, I know, but that’s the truth of it!

Favourite book in 2015?
Such a difficult question – I’ve read so many books this year, I can’t remember what they all were! The Son by Philipp Meyer gripped me from the start but lost me a little towards the end. If You Were Me by Sam Hepburn was great, and I also enjoyed the Bodyguard series by Chris Bradford.

Favourite film of 2015?
Ask me this question on Friday 18th, after I’ve seen The Force Awakens! I’ve got everything crossed for that one! I’m also looking forward to The Revenant which promises to be something special. Otherwise . . . I’ll go for Mad Max: Fury Road. It’s completely bonkers and full of mad imagery.

Favourite song of the year?
Not ‘Hello . . . it’s me . . .’ Definitely not. Just, no. Actually, it’s hard to pick one song but I’m going to opt for ‘Psycho’ by Muse. They’re a great band and I’ve managed to get tickets to see them next year!

Any downsides for you in 2015?
I try not to dwell on things like that. I do dwell on them, of course, but I try hard not to.

Are you making resolutions for 2016?
Do people really make New Year resolutions? I never do. If you want to do something, why wait till Jan 1st to make a resolution?

Boy X

What are you hoping for from 2016?
Health and happiness for my family, of course, and continued professional success. It would be great to see people enjoying my new novel for younger readers, Boy X (out in Feb) 2016. Oh, and a royalty cheque to be proud of would be lovely, thanks!

2 responses to “Review of 2015: Dan Smith

  1. Pingback: I review my 2015. | elementaryvwatson

  2. Pingback: A busy fortnight for Elementary Writers! | elementaryvwatson

Leave a Reply

