Review of 2015: Col Bury


Col Bury has been a mate of mine for a few years now and he’s always a pleasure to chat to as you’ll see from his 2015 review.

Thanks for taking the time to do this, Col.

Vic x

Col MKOJ Launch2015 was a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?
Favourite memory has to be the launch of my debut crime novel, My Kind of Justice at Urmston Library in a room packed to the rafters with family and friends, and of course, how positively the novel has been received… so far!

My Kind of Justice - Cover.jpg

And how about a favourite moment from 2015 generally?
A few standout ‘moments’ are connected…
I won a reading slot at Bloody Scotland and shared a green room with the very supportive and friendly Martina Cole. After the yearly Harrogate trip (and this time going as an author, not just a fan) I bagged a hat-trick for The North in our 6-0 win over The South in a crime writers’ football match and ended up on stage being presented the trophy by Val McDermid. So, while at Bloody Scotland, it was a no-brainer when asked to help restore some English pride (after last year’s debacle!) by netting twice and bagging two assists in a respectable and entertaining 5-5 draw. Incredibly, to me, I played alongside the likes of Simon Kernick and ‘nutmegged’ Ian Rankin. You can’t say that every day!

Favourite book in 2015?
Due to a particularly busy year, including adapting to a new full-time day job, my reading has unfortunately suffered and my TBR ‘pile’ is more akin to a TBR ‘mountain’! However, I’m currently enjoying Angie Marsons’ Silent Scream and the way it’s shaping I can see why Angie’s such a popular author. Graham Smith’s debut novel Snatched from Home is a damn good read too.

Favourite film of 2015?
Mad Max: Fury Road and Jurassic World, but the best thing I watched was a box-set. Earlier in the year I sacrificed all TV (except the footy!) and devoured the whole Breaking Bad series – fantastic writing and thoroughly gripping.

Favourite song of the year?

Blue Moon, every year. Seriously though, copying Howard Linskey here and going for Uptown Funk.

Any downsides for you in 2015?
Personally, not writing and reading enough because ‘life’ took over.
Globally, all the terror attacks and people suffering. Why can’t we all just get along?

Are you making resolutions for 2016?
Yes… to crack on!

What are you hoping for from 2016?
To snag an agent’s interest in a new series I’ve been playing with for too long now, and to add to the DI Jack Striker series. Also toying with a comedy book about puns, which will hopefully help me turn over a new leaf and open another chapter… (I’ll get me coat).

Thanks for having me, Vic and all the best for 2016.

2 responses to “Review of 2015: Col Bury

  1. Pingback: Review of 2015: Col Bury | Col Bury's New Crime Fiction

  2. Thanks, Vic. Can’;t believe I missed out finally meeting legendary New York agent, Nat Sobel, who kinda squeezed the first few drafts of the novel out of me. Ah well.

Leave a Reply

