Review of 2015: Eileen Wharton


Eileen Wharton is a fab lass who lives not too far from me – just over the river in fact – and it’s brilliant to see her doing so well.

As you’ll see, Eileen is one very busy lady so thanks to her for taking the time to review her 2015.

Vic x

Eileen Wharton

2015 was a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory professionally?
My favourite memory would be a recent one: the launch of my children’s picture book, ‘The Shmoogly Boo,’ published by Hogsback Books and illustrated by the very talented David Walker. Another favourite was reading the book to the children of St Wilfrid’s Primary School in my hometown. The response was amazing. I felt so pleased and proud that the book brought pleasure to so many small people Yay!

Shmoogly Boo

And a happy memory generally?
There have been so many fantastic moments in 2015. Many involving my fabulous kids, family and friends. A day out in Newcastle to see Mrs Brown’s Boys with very special people springs to mind. Harrogate Crime Writing Festival with the lovely KA Richardson.
I also met my lovely new man who’s brought much love and laughter into my life. I’m looking forward to the future with him. Happy me!

Favourite book in 2015?
I’m an avid reader but I haven’t read as much this year as I usually do. Do I have to pick just one? I would say my favourites have been books written by friends: Howard Linskey’s ‘No Name Lane’. Col Bury’s, ‘My Kind of Justice’ and Graham Smith’s ‘Snatched from Home’. I also read ‘The Great Gatsby’ for the first time and loved it.

Favourite film of 2015?
Favourite film I watched would probably be Django Unchained.

 Favourite song of the year?
A song out this year or just the favourite listened to? Oh there’s too many to choose one. Love John Legend’s ‘All of Me.’ Paul Weller’s ‘You do something to me’ Christy Moore’s ‘Black is the Colour’. Song out this year would perhaps be ‘Uptown Funk.’ It’s very catchy and makes me want to dance in my inimitable and crazy style.

Any downsides for you in 2015?
It has been a difficult year in some respects personally but I don’t want to bore you with the details and a girl has to retain some sense of mystery.

Are you making resolutions for 2016?
No. I’d only break them as I do every other year. They would be things like: drink less, eat less, exercise more and we all know they’re just not going to happen.

What are you hoping for from 2016?
I’m hoping to continue to be happy and healthy. I’m hoping all my friends and family stay happy and healthy. I’m hoping to be able to retire from teaching and write full time. (This is a dream rather than a hope as I’m a long way off from achieving this!) I’m hoping my crime novel ‘Blanket of Blood’ will be published by a well-respected publisher. If not, I intend to self-publish in 2016.

One response to “Review of 2015: Eileen Wharton

  1. Thanks for the mention, Eileen! x

Leave a Reply

