Review of 2015: Luca Veste


Lovely Luca Veste is sharing his 2015 with us today. Over the last few years, it has been a pleasure seeing Luca getting his books published and being recognised as the brilliant writer he is.

Thanks for taking the time to do this, Luca! 
Vic x
Luca Veste
2015 has been a great year for you. Do you have a favourite memory as a writer? 
I’m always shocked when I see one of my books on a shop shelf for sale, so Bloodstream being released would definitely be up there. It was also reviewed in the Financial Times, which was something I never expected to happen… the FT isn’t exactly a standard read around my parts! That was very cool.
Blood Stream
And how about a favourite moment from 2015 generally?
It’s been a pretty shocking year in the news this year. Not many high moments really. I guess it would be the responses to the terrible incidents by ordinary people. The queues to donate blood following the Paris attacks, the ‘Refugees Welcome’ signs seen in many places. There’s still some good in the world.
Favourite book in 2015?
Tough choice this year. Toss up between I Know Who Did It by Steve Mosby and What Remains by Tim Weaver. Honorable mention to The Death House by Sarah Pinborough. All excellent books which make me green with envy and also glad I still get moved by a novel.
Favourite film of 2015?
Writing this before watching the new Star Wars movie, which is extremely likely to become my favourite of the year. Without that movie, I’d go for Inside Out. I thought it was going to be another of those kids films I am endlessly dragged to but I was shocked to find a film which really resonated and made me feel something. My eldest daughter is slowly entering the next stage of life and the film was hugely emotive around that change.
Favourite song of the year?
Whilst I loved Uptown Funk, my absolute favourite is Take Me To Church by Hozier. No idea when it came out, but I first heard it in April of this year. Fantastic song.
Any downsides for you in 2015?
Watching the decline of Brendan Rodgers at Liverpool was tough going, but apart from that I’ve had a cool year.
Are you making resolutions for 2016?
 I’m going to try to give up smoking at some point. Think it’s time. Also to continue losing weight (almost two stone gone this year). Generally to be more healthy, as we’re only here once.
What are you hoping for from 2016?
 A more peaceful and less fearful society.
Leave a Reply

