Guest Post: Graham Smith on ‘Unexpected Successes: The Story of Crime and Publishment’.


Regular readers of this blog will recognise today’s guest blogger, Graham Smith. Last month, Graham was kind enough to review his 2015 for us. Not only is Graham a successful novelist, his book ‘Snatched from Home’ was mentioned as many people’s top read of 2015 in their reviews last month, but he’s also the brains behind Crime and Publishment.

Graham’s here to tell us all about how Crime & Publishmenta weekend of writing masterclasses for crime writers has become a runaway success. 

Thanks to Graham, as always, for sharing his time with us. 

Vic x

 

Back in 2012 I sat down with a friend and together we laid the foundations of what has become one of my proudest achievements. Our conversation centred on us pooling our resources to put together a weekend of writing masterclasses aimed at crime writers. The key points we both agreed on was that the classes should be informative, professionally delivered and most of all, affordable. Another element we both wanted to include was the chance for attendees to pitch their work to an industry professional after being taught how to do so.

At the time I was a budding author fully aware of the fact I had one hell of a lot still to learn. Inga ran (among other things) Full Paper Jacket which helped authors get their novels reader for publication or submission to publishers.

Graham Smith

As the general manager of a hotel I could provide the venue at a reasonable price and between the two of us we had not only a good network of contacts for the speakers but a reasonably sized following of both online and physical friends with an interest in writing.

The first Crime and Publishment in March 2013 exceeded both our expectations as eighteen attendees banded together to learn from our speakers. Once the weekend was over, Inga and I sat down and looked at the feedback from the group on ways we could improve the experience and who we could get to be our speakers. We wanted to include smaller publishers so we invited Darren Laws of Caffeine Nights to teach attendees how to pitch and then listen to their pitches. Five minutes after I’d cold-called him, he agreed to come along.

Because I was the organiser, I spoke to Darren Laws a few weeks prior to the 2014 weekend about various things and when I told him I would be pitching myself, we got talking about my own writing and I found myself pitching my novel while trying desperately to sound prepared and professional. I must have got away with it because he told me to send him the first fifty pages of my manuscript.

Snatched-From-Home

In early 2014, Inga’s personal and professional life took her away from the area and she had to regretfully step away from Crime and Publishment. When Michael J. Malone offered to replace her I didn’t think twice and practically snapped his hand off.

2014’s weekend surpassed 2013 in both the information passed on from the speakers and the camaraderie among the attendees. The programme was extended to include some smaller sessions which were more career based and the mood was ebullient throughout.

As I’d made my pitch before the event (At this point Darren hadn’t read it so we didn’t discuss it the whole weekend), I was the first to hear back. It was positive news as Darren wanted to publish Snatched from Home. My new friends in the C&P gang were all incredibly supportive of my success but I didn’t realise just how good a thing it was until I got more emails later in the year. Mike Craven had also been offered a publishing deal from Caffeine Nights and Amit Dhand used techniques learned at Crime and Publishment to snare a top agent.

ABC MC

In 2015, a family emergency saw a last minute change of speaker (I owe Neil White many more beers for bailing me out) and the number of attendees rise to record levels. While the dust was settling on the remnants of another great weekend, I learned Lucy Cameron had been offered a publishing contract by Caffeine Nights, that one of our speakers – RC Bridgestock (Bob & Carol) had been signed by that year’s agent, the inimitable David Headley (also of Goldsboro books) who was another who agreed to come to C&P as a speaker when I cold called them. To finish off the year, Tess Makovesky secured a deal for her novella Raise the Blade and Mike Craven signed with David Headley.

NiW

And now I’m looking forward to 2016. First off is Crime and Publishment on the 26th-28th of February which has all the elements needed to be yet another great weekend. The speakers and subjects are:

Matt Hilton – Getting Your Fights Right
Alexandra Sokoloff – Structuring Your Story
Tom Cain / David Thomas – Fact in Fiction
Sarah Hunt of Saraband Publishing – Perfecting Your Pitch and the Pitch session
Michael Malone and myself – Nurturing Your Characters
Little old me – Networking for Authors

That group includes a former Hollywood screenwriter, a top journalist, a former 5th Dan martial artist, a top independent publisher, a critically-acclaimed author and me.

Also of great importance to Crime and Publishment is the actual publication of some books. To date we’ve had the following books published:

The Major Crimes Team Vol 1: Lines of Enquiry by Graham Smith
Snatched from Home by Graham Smith
Assume Nothing, Believe Nobody, Challenge Everything by Mike Craven
Born in a Burial Gown by Mike Craven

Lines-of-Enquiry-Cover

2016 will see the following books published with the possibility of others:

I Know Your Secret by Graham Smith
Night is Watching by Lucy Cameron
Raise the Blade by Tess Makovesky
Amit Dhand’s as yet untitled novel
Plus hopefully Vol 2 of the Major Crimes Team

Never once when I started planning Crime and Publishment back in 2012 did I dare to dream that it would attract such a talented bunch of writers who would band together and support each other through success and failure alike. The gang beta-read for each other, offer advice, a shoulder to cry on or a mate to celebrate with.

To say I’m immensely proud of the success Crime and Publishment has enjoyed would be a huge understatement. Yet I don’t hold myself responsible, the credit should be shared collectively among the gang as without their enthusiasm and support, C&P wouldn’t have achieved half as much.

I’m already planning 2017 and if I can get everyone on my hitlist, Crime and Publishment can continue to grow and blossom.

One response to “Guest Post: Graham Smith on ‘Unexpected Successes: The Story of Crime and Publishment’.

  1. I’m proud and delighted to be part of such an illustrious group. Couldn’t have done it without Crime & Publishment – and that’s not just an idle ‘puff’ comment.

Leave a Reply

