Noir at the Bar NE


Noir at the Bar NE

Over the last couple of weeks, you’ll have read guest posts by Tess Makovesky and Lucy Cameron about the first Noir at the Bar in England, which took place on Thursday, 10th March 2016.

When I told Graham Smith – one of the organisers – that I couldn’t make N@tB in Carlisle due to prior arrangements, he suggested that I set up the North East chapter of N@tB. Initially, I scoffed, telling him that I wouldn’t know where to start but with support and advice from Graham and Jay Stringer, I started to believe that it could be done.

Within a day of Graham suggesting it, I’d contacted North East writers and had arranged a line-up. Then I contacted the wonderful Jackeeta Collins, the brains behind the fantastically successful Newcastle Noir, and asked her to co-host with me. Thankfully, Jacky jumped at the opportunity. During my meeting with Jacky, it became apparent to me that noir and crime fiction inspires such enthusiasm in people, further reinforcing the idea that N@tB NE could be a success.

So I had writers and a co-host, all I needed was a venue. The Town Wall in Newcastle welcomed us with open arms and its cinema room downstairs is a perfect place to host Noir at the Bar NE.

Noir at the Bar NE will have its first outing on Wednesday, 1st June. We’re very lucky to have Graham Smith and Tess Makovesky coming across from Gretna and Carlisle respectively to pass on the N@tB baton. Janet O’Kane and Bea Davenport are travelling from Berwick to participate and Sheila Quigley is representing Sunderland.

We will be picking names from a hat for the line-up and there will also be a wild card round where a member of the audience is chosen at random to give a reading (obviously, those who want to be in with a chance of this must put their names down) so it’s a great opportunity for up and coming writers too.

1st June can’t come soon enough!

Vic x

Leave a Reply

