Review of 2016: Dan Smith


My good friend Dan Smith joins us on the blog today to look back over his 2016. Thanks for taking the time to join us, Dan, it’s always a pleasure to host you. 

Vic x 

Dan Smith


Do you have a favourite memory professionally from 2016?
My fourth novel for younger readers – Boy X – was published in February, and I’ve signed a deal to write two more books for the brilliant Chicken House publishing, so I guess that’s pretty good!

Boy X



And how about a favourite memory from 2016 generally?
My wife and I finally saved up enough to take our children on a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Orlando in Florida. Two weeks of sun and awesomeness! It was an exhausting but fun trip and I loved every minute of it.

Favourite book in 2016?
That’s always such a hard question to answer. I find myself remembering the ones I’ve read over the past couple of months, but anything before that tends to be a little hazy. I read the Bodyguard series by Chris Bradford, and they’re great adventures for younger (and older!) readers. Saga continues to be an excellent graphic novel series, and . . . I very much enjoyed reading The Girl With All The Gifts.

Favourite film in 2016?
There have been a few good ones. The Girl With All the Gifts was a lot of fun, and Swiss Army Man was very good too, but I think my favourite film this year was Slow West. I know it didn’t come out in 2016, but I came to it a little late and I’m so glad I watched it. It’s stylish, tense, twisty, quirky and brilliant. Go and see it right now!

Favourite song of the year?
Okay, now I’m tearing my hair out. So hard to choose a favourite! It was great to see Green Day coming back with ‘Bang Bang‘, and then giving us a whole new album! Also, Twenty-One Pilots have just done a fantastic cover of MCR’s ‘Cancer’ to celebrate the 10yr anniversary of The Black Parade . . .    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yw6i1SAHetc

Any downsides for you in 2016?
There are always a few downsides. A recurring back problem means that I’ve spent a good portion of the year in discomfort at best and terrible pain at worst. Physiotherapists, chiropractors, scans, and painkillers . . . Unfortunately I had to cancel a few school events, but y’know, it’s such a bore to dwell on the bad things and I’m determined to come out fighting every day!

Are you making resolutions for 2017?
I don’t really understand the idea of making resolutions at the beginning of the year. If you want to focus on something, don’t wait until January 1st; do it now!

What are you hoping for from 2017?
Fame, fortune, and the secret to eternal youth. Or, maybe just a world where Donald Trump doesn’t get to be President!

Leave a Reply

