Review of 2016: Nick Quantrill


It’s years since I first met Nick Quantrill and, no matter how much time passes, he’s always the same whenever we meet up. Nick is one of the nicest guys around and it’s a pleasure to host him to review his 2016. 

Thanks for being involved, Nick!

Vic x

nick-quantrill

Do you have a favourite memory professionally from 2016?
The publication of a book is always special, so it was great to see “The Dead Can’t Talk” off into the world. For the first time with one of my books, I had a launch party. It was pretty amazing to see a full room of family and friends when I took to the stage to be interviewed by the always excellent Helen Cadbury. 

dead-cant-talk

And how about a favourite moment from 2016 generally?
Blimey. That’s a tough one! What a year it’s been…Brexit, Trump, death upon death…
I always go back to my daughter, though. She’s five, so *everything* in the world is amazing. It’s refreshing to shed any cynicism and just see things through her eyes. There’s little that can’t be resolved by sharing a chocolate bar and chatting about Go Jetters.

Favourite book in 2016?
As ever, there’s just so much choice. I’ve done a lot of reading for events, so reading purely for pleasure has been in relative short supply. The usual suspects haven’t disappointed, but I’ve enjoyed a few surprise gems. “The Big Fear” by Andrew Case was bought on a whim and offered a muscular look at modern-day New York. Tim Baker’s “Fever City” is a great spin on the assassination of JFK. I was lucky enough to snag early copies of “Sirens” by Joseph Knox and “Time to Win” by Harry Brett. Both are going to be massive in 2017. Noir is back.

Favourite film in 2016?
I’m much more of a box set type of person rather than a film lover. It’s more circumstances than anything else. I’ve only been to the cinema to see the latest Jack Reacher film and it was ok. In the world of box sets, I loved “Goliath” and “Bosch” on Amazon Prime. “House of Cards” is always a treat, but real life has overtaken events somewhat… 

Favourite song of the year?
I’m an album buyer, so I tend to think of music in those terms. Any year which brings new music from Wilco, Teenage Fanclub and Steve Earle is a good year, but my new jam (is that what the kids say?) is Car Seat Headrest. Will Toledo is a talent. I have tickets to see them in Leeds next year.

Any downsides for you in 2016?
I’m none too keen on the direction the world has taken this year, so that’s a pretty big downside. In relation to writing, I know I’m incredibly fortunate to have had the opportunities I’ve had, and although it’s human nature to want to keep progressing, I wouldn’t even dare to complain. 2016 has been kind to me in that respect.

Are you making resolutions for 2017?
Nope. I’ve no time for resolutions and don’t believe in artificial markers if you want to change something. Do it today. The nearest I’ll get to a resolution is to remember to exercise more. Sitting down all day isn’t the healthiest lifestyle choice… 

What are you hoping for from 2017?
As a writer, I simply want to produce better work. That’s always the challenge that drives me on. It’s also a big year for my home city of Hull, as we kick off our 2017 UK City of Culture programme. I’ve got some exciting projects to work on (watch this space etc), but as a resident, I hope people visit us and see what a fine place it is. I’ll have the kettle on for you.

Leave a Reply

