Review of 2016: Katheryn Womack


Today on the blog is Katheryn Womack, she’s here to review her year. Thanks for being involved, Katheryn. 

Vic x

Do you have a favourite memory professionally from 2016?
The only thing I can think of professionally is that I wrote a short science fiction story.  I have never written science fiction in my life, but I really loved this story.

Unless you count the fact that I have worked here for three and a half years and never taken a vacation, so this May, I took a month off to go to my hometown.  I hadn’t seen anyone for so long, and they hadn’t seen my girls since they were preschoolers.  It was the most wonderful month, maybe of my life.  Every day was packed with visits, parties, get-togethers, events museums, picnics, shopping, you name it.  It was a month of warm, fuzzy, love.

And how about a favourite moment from 2016 generally? 
My favourite moment was when I took my girls to Shanghai Disneyland.  I became a single mother when my youngest was one and half, and my oldest had just turned three.  It was a horrible struggle financially and physically.  I had promised them I would take them to Disneyland when they were out of diapers and didn’t need naps.  It took me a long time to recover from cancer and an even longer time to recover financially, but I finally took them two weeks ago.  It was my proudest mommy moment.   

Favourite book in 2016?
I have read a few good ones, “Everything I Never Told You” By Celeste Ng.  Seems to be sticking out though.

Favourite film in 2016?
I’m about to go see “Dr. Strange” in a week and I’m hoping it will be the one.

Favourite song of the year?
I rarely listen to new music.  I will say, I saw the kids from “Stranger Things” do “Uptown Funk” and I could listen to that over and over.  

Any downsides for you in 2016?
I have two best friends going through horribly distressful times that they are having a very hard time handling, and I can’t be there physically for them.  I hate that I don’t know what to do or how to help them.

Are you making resolutions for 2017?
I will submit more manuscripts to more places.  I need to get more proactive with that part of writing.  Maybe apply for a few jobs in the states.

What are you hoping for from 2017?
I’m hoping to finally get new glasses.  I hope my mom comes out of cancer treatment with flying colours.  I hope I’m able to save money.

Leave a Reply

