Review of 2016: Joanna Delooze


The lovely Joanna Delooze and I have been Facebook friends for many years. I’m really happy to have her here to review her 2016. Thanks so much for being involved, Joanna!
Vic x
Do you have a favourite memory professionally from 2016?
I’m a stay at home mum due to my having Multiple Sclerosis, so my professional life consists of writing and skivvying around after my husband and two creative, messy, chaotic teen boys (and one manic border collie). On the writing front, I had  a very positive experience this autumn with a great writing contest, Pitch Wars. (I recommend it if you haven’t tried it before!) The competition to get chosen for the mentoring experience was high, and I was shortlisted, but ultimately  didn’t get in. BUT, two of the mentors I applied to contacted me privately to discuss my MS. They both are published YA writers and were full of praise for my MS & encouraged me to submit to agents as they thought it was ready to go, which is why I wasn’t chosen to be mentored! After a very difficult year (see below) I was really proud of myself for arriving at that point. The relationships we have built & the support & advice they gave is fabulous. The writing community is full of wonderful, empowering people. The book is out on sub now & I’m chomping at the bit to see some results.

And how about a favourite moment from 2016 ?
I had a very weird year, which began with me having surgery to remove a tumour that was growing behind my right ear and up into my skull. YIKES! On Monday, 11th January I went under the anaesthetic as we were listening Radio 2 announce that David Bowie had passed away in the night. So as I was falling asleep, the anaesthetist, her assistant and I were singing “There’s a Starman…” After that, the doctors took a can opener to my head in a 12 hour op and  several long months of recovery followed. I’ve nicknamed my scar Bowie. Now every time I hear a Bowie song I think about how grateful I am to have come through the operation with all my mental faculties intact and no lasting damage. Each time I managed to accomplish something difficult this year, either mentally (like finishing my book) or physically (building & planting a rockery in my front yard with my son, just keeping my house from falling down around me), it’s been a victory as I went through the recovery process.

Favourite book in 2016?
Because I was in bed for months I read A LOT this year.
3 faves because I can’t choose between them:
‘The Martian’ by Andy Weir.
‘The Night Circus’ by Erin Morgenstern.
‘The Universe vs Alex Woods’ by Gavin Extence.


Favourite film in 2016?
The Martian‘ & ‘Dr Strange‘.

 

Favourite song of the year?  
Titanium‘ by Sia, it was my mantra all year while I returned to normal!
Any downsides for you in 2016?
DONALD FRIGGING TRUMP. I’m an ex-pat New Yorker living in England.
Are you making resolutions for 2017?
eat better
sleep more
write more
get more organised
stop being a control freak about my kids

What are you hoping for from 2017?
That Trump will surprise us all and not be the disaster we all anticipate & that a lovely agent will have an a-ha moment and fall in love with my book.

After a spell away, I’m hoping to revive my blog starting in January, it’d be great to celebrate the new year with you all!

Leave a Reply

